CSU women’s basketball’s Nystrom, Williams earn preseason honors

Sam Lounsberry

Two preseason Mountain West accolades were awarded to two members of this year’s CSU women’s basketball team on Wednesday.

Ellen Nystrom, a junior out of Lulea, Sweden, was named the MW Preseason Player of the Year by College Sports Madness, and head coach Ryun Williams was named MW Preseason Coach of the Year.
Last year, Nystrom’s season of averaging 9.2 points per game and a team-high 6.8 rebounds per game earned her a spot on the All-Mountain West team and the conference’s all-defensive team.
Nystrom also notched a spot on College Sports Madness’ All-High Major Second Team, which consists of players from the Atlantic 10, Colonial, Conference USA, Horizon, Mid-American, Missouri Valley, Mountain West and West Coast conferences.
Williams is entering his fourth season as CSU’s head coach, and is looking to keep one of the most successful stretches in program history alive this season. Since ending 11-19 his first year in 2012-2013, Williams has led the Rams to two straight 20-plus win seasons and two straight MW regular season championships.
Colorado State hosts South Carolina-Aiken in an exhibition game Nov. 6 with the regular season opener following on Nov. 13 vs. Western State at Moby Arena.

College Sports Madness Mountain West Preseason All-Conference Teams
Coach of the Year – Ryun Williams, Colorado State
Player of the Year – Ellen Nystrom, Colorado State
Freshman of the Year – Rachelle Tucker, Wyoming
First Team
Guard – Marquelle Dent, Wyoming
Guard – Ellen Nystrom, Colorado State
Guard/Forward – Funda Naggasoglu, Utah State
Forward – Khadijah Shumpert, New Mexico
Forward/Center – Aley Rohde, UNLV
Second Team
Guard – Cortney Porter, Air Force
Guard – McKynzie Fort, San Diego State
Guard – Jordan Kelley, Wyoming
Guard – Terilyn Moe, Nevada
Guard/Forward – Brooke Pahukoa, Boise State

College Sports Madness All-High Major Teams
Coach of the Year – Kevin Borseth, Green Bay
Player of the Year – Jonquel Jones, George Washington
Freshman of the Year – Riley Rose, Missouri State
First Team
Guard – Olivia Jones, Middle Tennessee State
Guard – Lexi Eaton, BYU
Guard/Forward – Elle Tinkle, Gonzaga
Forward – Jonquel Jones, George Washington
Forward/Center – Lizzy Wendell, Drake
Second Team
Guard – Kendall Noble, Western Kentucky
Guard – Ellen Nystrom, Colorado State
Guard/Forward – April Robinson, Duquesne
Forward – Dyana Pierre, Southern Illinois
Forward/Center – Caira Washington, George Washington
Third Team
Guard – Nathalie Fontaine, Ball State
Guard – Katie Healy, St. Bonaventure
Guard/Forward – Ashunae Durant, Hofstra
Forward – Taylor Proctor, San Francisco
Forward/Center – Heidi Schlegel, Youngstown State
Fourth Team
Guard – Tesha Buck, Green Bay
Guard – Caitlin Ingle, Drake
Guard – Marquelle Dent, Wyoming
Guard/Forward – Sara Dickey, Evansville
Forward/Center – Miracle Woods, Western Michigan
Collegian Sports Reporter Sam Lounsberry can be reached at sports@collegian.com and on Twitter @samlounz.