Timeline of Colorado State University Rodeo Club

Mike Berg


By Erica Sinclair (Rodeo Club Secretary)


1922: Colorado A&M Aggies (now CSU) hosted the its first collegiate campus rodeo they called the “Kow College Karnival”. It was originally the Livestock Club that hosted the rodeo as a fundraiser.

1940’s: Colorado A&M was one of the 12 original schools in organizing the National Intercollegiate Rodeo Association

1950: First Skyline Stampede Rodeo—first official college rodeo in the nation.

1952: Colorado A&M won its first Team National Championship.

1956: John Gee won the first individual National Championship for Colorado A&M in the steer wrestling.

1956: Barrel Racing was introduced to college rodeo. Kathlyn Younger won the very first barrel racing National Championship for COAM (CSU) as well as the Women’s All-Around National Championship.

1963: Colorado State University had its first National Championship for the Women’s Team.

2014: Kyle Dickens won the calf roping regional title for the Central Rocky Mountain Region.

2017: The Wall of Fame was revealed at the Skyline Stampede honoring all of the past regional and national championship winners.

2017: Lake Mehalic won the barrel racing in the Central Rocky Mountain Region as a freshman.


2018: The CSU Rodeo Club is hosting the 68th Annual Skyline Stampede on April 6-8th at the BW Pickett Arena.