CSU’s Grayson named to Davey O’Brien Quarterback Award Watch List

Garrett Grayson

The preseason recognition keeps rolling in for Colorado State University football players.

Senior quarterback Garrett Grayson has been named to the watch list for the 2014 Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award, given to the best signal-caller in college football. He is among the 39 players on the list, announced Wednesday morning.


Grayson posted one of the best statistical seasons in CSU history in 2013, completing 62.1 percent of his passes while leading the Rams to an 8-6 record and their first bowl appearance since 2008.

The Vancouver, Washington product set single season records for CSU in passing yards (3,696) and completions (297), and tied the record for passing touchdowns (23). He also set single game school records for total yardage (445) and completions (36) against Boise State on Nov. 2, 2013.

In CSU’s comeback win over Washington State in the 2013 Gildan New Mexico Bowl, Grayson turned in a tremendous performance. He completed 31 of 50 passing attempts for 369 yards, two touchdowns and one interception.

Grayson is joined in receiving the preseason recognition by fellow MW quarterbacks Chuckie Keeton (Utah State), Cody Fajardo (Nevada) and Grant Hedrick (Boise State). Other notable names on the list include Jameis Winston (Florida State), Nick Marshall (Auburn), Braxton Miller (Ohio State) and Marcus Mariota (Oregon).

The 38th Annual Davey O’Brien Awards Dinner will be held Monday, Feb. 16, 2015 in Fort Worth, Texas.

Collegian Sports Reporter Emmett McCarthy can be reached at sports@collegian.com.