Cartwright named to John Mackey Award preseason watch list


CSU tight end Kivon Cartwright found his place on the team in 2012, becoming one of the Rams' top receiving threats.
CSU tight end Kivon Cartwright found his place on the team in 2012, becoming one of the Rams’ top receiving threats.

The John Mackey Award Selection Committee named Colorado State University tight end Kivon Cartwright to the preseason watch list for the 2014 John Mackey Award.


The award is given annually to the nation’s best collegiate tight end. Cartwright was chosen among 37 others for the preseason watch list.

Cartwright, a 6-foot 4-inch, 245-pound Pueblo native is one of only three tight ends on the watch list from the Mountain West. He also earned a spot on the 2013 John Mackey Award midseason watch list.

In 2013, Cartwright played in all 14 games, starting 11 of those contests, grabbing 27 passes for 462 yards. He tied for a team-high six receiving touchdowns, the most by a Mountain West tight end and third-most among FBS tight ends. Cartwright enters his senior season with 56 receptions for 835 yards and nine touchdowns.

The award recipient is selected by vote of the John Mackey Award Selection Committee. The 2014 winner will be announced Dec. 10 and presented live the next day at The Home Depot College Football Awards Red Carpet Show on ESPNU.

The John Mackey Award, presented since 2000, lists thirteen alumni to have played in the NFL:

2001 – Daniel Graham

2002 – Dallas Clark

2003 – Kellen Winslow II

2004 – Heath Miller

2005 – Marcedes Lewis


2006 – Matt Spaeth

2007 – Fred Davis

2008 – Chase Coffman

2009 – Aaron Hernandez

2010 – D.J. Williams

2011 – Dwayne Allen

2012 – Tyler Eifert

2013 – Austin Seferian-Jenkins

The midseason watch list will be announced Oct. 13, the semifinalists Nov. 17 and the finalists Nov. 24.

Collegian Managing Editor Lawrence Lam can be reached at