The Student News Site of Colorado State University

The Rocky Mountain Collegian

The Student News Site of Colorado State University

The Rocky Mountain Collegian

The Student News Site of Colorado State University

The Rocky Mountain Collegian

Print Edition
Letter to the editor submissions
Have a strong opinion about something happening on campus or in Fort Collins? Want to respond to an article written on The Collegian? Write a Letter to the Editor by following the guidelines here.
Follow Us on Twitter
How To Become An MRI Tech
How To Become An MRI Tech
May 28, 2024

Do you have a passion for math and technology? Are you skilled in communication and enjoy assisting others? Is paying attention to detail something...

University Symphony Orchestra to perform “Great Journeys” Wednesday night at UCA

The University Center for the Arts puts on an amazing number of quality shows each semester, and Wednesday night will be no exception.

The University Symphony Orchestra will be performing their concert, entitled “Great Journeys.” It is their first concert of spring semester and will be held in the Griffin Concert Hall at the UCA.


Wes Kenney will be directing the show, which will include a line-up of classical music from composers such as Brahms, Ravel and Rimsky-Korsakov.

Kenney has been working at CSU as a professor of music and the director of orchestras for 11 years, and is the winner of countless accolades and awards. He was the 2007 Grand Prize Winner of the Varna International Conducting Competition and is also the conductor of the Fort Collins Symphony, in addition to his conducting duties with CSU and numerous guest conductor appearances. Essentially, this show is going to be in incredibly talented hands.

Not only will the show be conducted by an amazing talent, but it will also have an inspiring and lively set of classical pieces. The Brahms selection, “Symphony no. 1” is a grand, sweeping and urgent piece of music with many different highs and lows to excite and inspire listeners. Ravel’s “Rhapsodie Espagnole” is foreboding and intense, while Rimskey-Korsakov’s “Russian Easter Overture” is full of rich lows and airy highs. It is clear that each selection will well represent, in their own respective ways, the theme of Great Journeys.

“This concert is a terrific way to start out the semester,” Kenney said.

Tickets for the show are priced at $7 for CSU students, $12 for the public and $1 for youth (ages 18 and under). They are available at the UCA ticket office from 3:30 p.m. to 5:30 p.m. Monday through Friday, as well as an hour prior to performances by phone at 970-491-ARTS (2827) or online at Youth tickets must be purchased in person at the ticket office. All tickets are subject to a $1 ticket fee for both online and at-the-door purchases. Advanced ticket purchase is highly recommended to avoid lines and further fees.

Don’t miss out on this night of music, and be sure to continue checking the UCA calendar so you can attend the other quality performances that CSU students and the Fort Collins community have to offer.

Collegian A&E Writer Aubrey Shanahan can be reached at or on Twitter @aubs926.

Leave a Comment
More to Discover

Comments (0)

When commenting on The Collegian’s website, please be respectful of others and their viewpoints. The Collegian reviews all comments and reserves the right to reject comments from the website. Comments including any of the following will not be accepted. 1. No language attacking a protected group, including slurs or other profane language directed at a person’s race, religion, gender, sexual orientation, social class, age, physical or mental disability, ethnicity or nationality. 2. No factually inaccurate information, including misleading statements or incorrect data. 3. No abusive language or harassment of Collegian writers, editors or other commenters. 4. No threatening language that includes but is not limited to language inciting violence against an individual or group of people. 5. No links.
All The Rocky Mountain Collegian Picks Reader Picks Sort: Newest

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *