CSU QB Grayson named MW Offensive Player of the Year; McElwain named Coach of the Year

Keegan Pope

Colorado State quarterback Garrett Grayson will be one of 16 seniors being honored during Senior Day on Saturday at Hughes Stadium.
Colorado State quarterback Garrett Grayson has been named the Mountain West Offensive Player of the Year, the league announced Tuesday.

Colorado State quarterback Garrett Grayson has been named the Mountain West Offensive Player of the Year, the league announced Tuesday morning.

“I’m very thankful to be surrounded by great players and coaches who make my job easier, and make me look better than I am,” Grayson said. “These coaches and players have put me in position to succeed and this is a team honor. I think Bradlee Van Pelt was our last player to win this award, so to be in same category as him, as I’ve said before, is a huge honor. BVP is still the man around Fort Collins.”


Grayson, a native of Vancouver, Washington, completed 250 of 386 passes for a school-record 3,779 yards and 32 touchdowns this season while throwing just six interceptions. Grayson has captured every career record in Colorado State history this season, and  ranks in the top seven among all FBS quarterbacks in 2014 in nearly every significant statistical category entering this weekend’s games.

He is the fourth Colorado State player to earn MW Offensive Player of the Year honors (RB Kevin McDougal in 1999, QB Matt Newton in 2000 and QB Bradlee Van Pelt in 2002 and 2003).

McElwain garners coach of the year award

Along with Grayson’s player of the year honor, CSU head coach Jim McElwain took home the Mountain West Coach of the Year award as well.

“I just can’t tell you how excited I am for our entire program, to receive recognition like this,” McElwain said. “It speaks volumes about the job this coaching staff and these players have done, and the type of support we have from our administration. None of this happens without all of those pieces coming together and it really speaks to the commitment that everybody in this program had made to being successful on an everyday basis. I have a lot of respect for the great coaches throughout this conference, so this honor means a great deal, and should for our whole program.”

McElwain led the Rams to a 10-2 regular season record that included their first national ranking since 2003. He led the Rams to their first 10-win season since 2004 and only the fourth such season in school history.

McElwain is the first CSU head coach to receive MW Coach of the Year honors since Sonny Lubick did in 1999 and 2000.

Grayson joined by Higgins, Wallker, Sambrailo on all-MW first team

Tackle Ty Sambrailo, tight end Steven Walker and receiver Rashard Higgins were also named first-team All-MW alongside Grayson. Linebacker Aaron Davis and running back Dee Hart picked up second-team all-MW honors.

Collegian Sports Editor Keegan Pope can be reached at kpope@collegian.com and on Twitter @ByKeeganPope.