The Student News Site of Colorado State University

The Rocky Mountain Collegian

The Student News Site of Colorado State University

The Rocky Mountain Collegian

The Student News Site of Colorado State University

The Rocky Mountain Collegian

Print Edition
Letter to the editor submissions
Have a strong opinion about something happening on campus or in Fort Collins? Want to respond to an article written on The Collegian? Write a Letter to the Editor by following the guidelines here.
Follow Us on Twitter
The Importance of Supporting Engineering Education
The Importance of Supporting Engineering Education
February 20, 2024

In today's era of information technology, engineering plays the role of a vanguard, trying to optimize processes and develop new products, making...

CSU’s Rashard Higgins named semifinalist for Biletnikoff Award

Colorado State’s Rashard Higgins has been named a semifinalists for the 2014 Biletnikoff Award, which is given to the best receiver in college football.

The sophomore from Mesquite, Texas leads the nation with 13 receiving touchdowns and 142.2 receiving yards per game. Higgins is also second in the nation in receiving yards with 1,280 despite missing one game due to injury. He is 13 yards shy of setting the CSU single-season record.


Back in July, Higgins became one of just five underclassmen in the country named to the Biletnikoff Award watch list. Monday, he was named one of the 10 semifinalists for the award along with USC’s Nelson Agholor, Alabama’s Amari Cooper, Florida State’s Rashad Greene, Kansas State’s Tyler Lockett, Washington State’s Vince Mayle, Oklahoma’s Sterling Shepard, Colorado’s Nelson Spruce, Arizona State’s Jaelen Strong and West Virginia’s Kevin White.

Higgins is the only player from the Mountain West to be named a semifinalist. The field will be narrowed to three finalists on Monday, November 24. Fans can help determine which three receivers will advance by voting on the Biletnikoff Award Fan Vote website.

The winner of the 2014 Biletnikoff Award will be named live on ESPN’s The Home Depot College Football Awards Show on Thursday, December 11, 2014. The award is named after former Florida State receiver Fred Biletnikoff and is presented by the Tallahassee Quarterback Club Foundation, Inc. Previous winners of the award include Brandin Cooks (2013), Golden Tate (2009), Michael Crabtree (2007, 2008), Calvin Johnson (2006), Larry Fitzgerald (2003) and Randy Moss (1997).

Collegian Sports Reporter Emmett McCarthy can be reached by email at and on Twitter @emccarthy22.

Leave a Comment
More to Discover

Hey, thanks for visiting!
We’d like to ask you to please disable your ad blocker when looking at our site — advertising revenue directly supports our student journalists and allows us to bring you more content like this.

Comments (0)

When commenting on The Collegian’s website, please be respectful of others and their viewpoints. The Collegian reviews all comments and reserves the right to reject comments from the website. Comments including any of the following will not be accepted. 1. No language attacking a protected group, including slurs or other profane language directed at a person’s race, religion, gender, sexual orientation, social class, age, physical or mental disability, ethnicity or nationality. 2. No factually inaccurate information, including misleading statements or incorrect data. 3. No abusive language or harassment of Collegian writers, editors or other commenters. 4. No threatening language that includes but is not limited to language inciting violence against an individual or group of people. 5. No links.
All The Rocky Mountain Collegian Picks Reader Picks Sort: Newest

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *