The Student News Site of Colorado State University

The Rocky Mountain Collegian

The Student News Site of Colorado State University

The Rocky Mountain Collegian

The Student News Site of Colorado State University

The Rocky Mountain Collegian

Print Edition
Letter to the editor submissions
Have a strong opinion about something happening on campus or in Fort Collins? Want to respond to an article written on The Collegian? Write a Letter to the Editor by following the guidelines here.
Follow Us on Twitter
When Should You Start Writing Your College Essay? 
When Should You Start Writing Your College Essay? 
May 28, 2024

Let's be frank: there's never an ideal moment to craft college essays. At best, there are times that are somewhat less unfavorable. Why is...

12 things you should know about marijuana legalization

1. You gotta be of age – 21 and older.

Nice try, Johnny Marijuany. 

Ad

 

2. Anyone with a Colorado ID can buy up to one ounce at a time. Tourists have to stick with a quarter.

That’s only a quarter for you, stranger.

 

3. It’s not cheap.With a 25% state tax (plus a 2.9% sales tax), an eighth of an ounce starts at $25-$30. (Medical marijuana won’t get additional taxes).

Johnny Marijuany rakes in the green. 

 

4. Keep your cash handy when purchasing retail marijuana – federal laws prohibit establishments from accepting credit cards.

Those ATM’s are smokin’.

Ad

 

5. You can’t smoke in public, not even at marijuana shops. Only on private property with permission from the owner.

Old Town Square is no place for Doobie Dave. 

 

6. If you’re 21, you can grow up to six plants in an enclosed space and your household can grow up to 12.

Johnny Marijuany kicks it with his pals. 

 

7. There are nearly 140 retail establishments across the state – none of which are in FoCo, yet.

Johnny Marijuany takes a road trip. 

 

8. Right now, Colorado is the only state legalizing retail marijuana – Washington will be the second, later in 2014.

Yo, Washington, what’s good? 

 

9. If you get caught with marijuana under the age of 21, there’s no longer jail time, but you can still be fined. Before January 2014, you could face up to a year in jail.

Looks like a ‘Get Out of Jail Free’ card was just put in play. 

 

10. You can get a DUI. Driving with five or more nanograms of THC in your system can get you a ticket.

Yikes.

 

11. You cannot take marijuana on the plane, nor to the airport.

DIA is not a fan of the THC.

 

12. The nearly $70 million in taxes are expected to go to school construction and further marijuana regulation.

 

Even though marijuana is legal in Colorado, the regulations are still forming and it is important to stay informed. Johnny Marijuany wants all the Rams to keep their records clean if they decide to go green.

 

Photo illustrations by Visual Aid Wizard Keegan Williams. 

Leave a Comment
More to Discover

Comments (0)

When commenting on The Collegian’s website, please be respectful of others and their viewpoints. The Collegian reviews all comments and reserves the right to reject comments from the website. Comments including any of the following will not be accepted. 1. No language attacking a protected group, including slurs or other profane language directed at a person’s race, religion, gender, sexual orientation, social class, age, physical or mental disability, ethnicity or nationality. 2. No factually inaccurate information, including misleading statements or incorrect data. 3. No abusive language or harassment of Collegian writers, editors or other commenters. 4. No threatening language that includes but is not limited to language inciting violence against an individual or group of people. 5. No links.
All The Rocky Mountain Collegian Picks Reader Picks Sort: Newest

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *