Bryan named a semifinalist for prestigious football-scholar award

Sergio Santistevan

Wyatt Bryan has succeeded on and off the field for the Colorado State football team.

Bryan, who is CSU’s all-time leading scorer, was named a semifinalist for the 2018 William V. Campbell Trophy Wednesday morning by the National Football Foundation.


The William V. Campbell Trophy is often looked at as the “Academic Heisman Trophy” and is awarded to the nation’s best football-scholar athlete.

Bryan is a mechanical engineering major who currently holds a 3.682 GPA. In the last three seasons, Bryan has earned Academic All-Mountain West and Mountain West Scholar-Athlete recognition en route to becoming CSU’s all-time leading scorer.

Throughout his collegiate career, Bryan has made 75.4 percent of his field goal attempts.

In the Rams’ first win in history against an SEC school at home, Bryan connected on all four field goal attempts, with one tying the school record of 55 yards.

Bryan will have to wait until Oct. 31 to know if he is a finalist. Each finalist will receive an $18,000 postgraduate scholarship and travel to New York City for the NFF Awards Dinner Dec. 4. The winner of the prestigious award will have his scholarship increased to $25,000.

Each candidate and finalists will be selected by the NFF Awards Committee, which consists of nationally recognized media members, College Football Hall of Fame members and athletic administrators.

Notable winners of the Earl V. Campbell Trophy include Peyton Manning (Tennessee), Chad Pennington (Marshall), Kyle Vanden Bosch (Nebraska), Tim Tebow (Florida) and last year’s winner Micah Kiser (Virginia).

Sergio Santistevan can be reached at or on Twitter @TheRealsSergio.