The Student News Site of Colorado State University

The Rocky Mountain Collegian

The Student News Site of Colorado State University

The Rocky Mountain Collegian

The Student News Site of Colorado State University

The Rocky Mountain Collegian

Board of Directors

RMSMC is seeking student board members for 2019-20 and beyond!

The RMSMC is dedicated to community service and enhancing CSU’s educational mission by empowering, training and equipping students to excel in journalistic and other media methods, ethics, critical thinking, and management.

Past student Board members have found that service on the Board is a positive addition to their resume, provides a chance for campus involvement, and is an opportunity to learn more about management and media operations.

The Board has 11 CSU students and four non-students.

The Board sets policies, hears reports and proposals, approves the annual budgets for student media (total is about $1.2 million annually).  Board members are also encouraged to sit on a board committee that will perform some tasks between board meetings. Committees include board recruitment, special events, strategic planning, engagement, personnel, among other ad hoc committees.

Student members receive a stipend each semester based on the number of meetings attended (the Board typically meets four times per semester).  Stipends range from $125 for student members to $225 per semester for student officers and committee chairs.   Meetings are held monthly during the school year and on an as needed basis via conference call over the summer.  Meetings are usually held in the Lory Student Center at 5:30 PM to 7:00 PM on the third Wednesday of the month (though the week can move due to breaks).

If you’re interested, please fill out this application and and email it to Austin Harvill (Board Chair) at at or drop it off to his attention at the RMSMC offices at 118 Lory Student Center.  If you prefer, you can type your responses into a memo. Board members will receive training and background information at an orientation meeting shortly after selection.


Mike Ellis, VP of Student Affairs and Executive Director of Lory Student Center, Colorado State University; RMSMC Board Member

Dani Grant, Owner Mishawaka and Chipper’s Lanes; RMSMC Community Board Member

Josh Johnson, Associated Students of CSU, Senator, RMSMC Board Member

Zach Simon, Associated Students of CSU, Deputy Chief of Staff; RMSMC Board Member*

Greg Luft, Journalism and Mass Communication Department, Colorado State University, Chair; RMSMC Board Member

Sady Swanson, Breaking News Reporter, Coloradoan; RMSMC Board Member

Austin Harvill, CSU Student, RMSMC Board Member

Libby Rea, Colorado State University, Student; RMSMC Board Member

Sarah Raskin, Colorado State University, Student; RMSMC Board Member

Mia Geoly, Colorado State University, Student; RMSMC Board of Directors

Diane Thomas, HR and Accounting Manager RMSMC; RMSMC Board Member, Treasurer, Non-Voting

Peter Waack, CEO and President RMSMC; RMSMC Board Member, Non-Voting*

* indicates member of the RMSMC Board of Directors, Executive Committee

For more information about the RMSMC Board of directors contact Austin Harvill at


Hey, thanks for visiting!

We’d like to ask you to please disable your ad blocker when looking at our site — advertising revenue directly supports our student journalists and allows us to bring you more content like this.