CSU QB Grayson named Manning Award finalist

Keegan Pope

homecoming_football-18Amid the chaos of head coach Jim McElwain’s possible departure, Colorado State senior quarterback Garrett Grayson has been named a finalist for the Manning Award, which is sponsored by the Allstate Sugar Bowl, the group announced on Wednesday.

Grayson, who just accepted invitations to play in the Reese’s Senior Bowl and the East-West Shrine Game, has captured every career record in Colorado State history this season, and has already broken his own single-season records for passing yards (3,779) and passing touchdowns (32) with a bowl game remaining to be played. 


Grayson has led the Rams to a 10-2 record, which ties for the most victories by a CSU squad in the regular season.

Manning Award Finalists
J.T. Barrett, Fr., Ohio State
Trevone Boykin, Jr., TCU
Rakeem Cato, Sr., Marshall
Garrett Grayson, Sr., Colorado State
Brett Hundley, Jr., UCLA
Cody Kessler, Jr., USC
Marcus Mariota, Jr., Oregon
Bryce Petty, Sr., Baylor
Dak Prescott, Jr., Mississippi State
Blake Sims, Sr., Alabama
Jameis Winston, So., Florida State

The winner will be announced after the bowls in January and will be honored at a ceremony in New Orleans. The Manning Award was created by the Allstate Sugar Bowl in honor of the college football accomplishments of Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning.

Collegian Sports Editor Keegan Pope can be reached at kpope@collegian.com and on Twitter @ByKeeganPope.