Distinguished Alumni Awards Ceremony to take Place Oct. 6

A total of 23 Colorado State University alumni will be honored at the CSU Alumni Association Distinguished Alumni Awards. The awards recognize CSU alumni each year who have distinguished themselves professionally, brought honor to the University and have made significant contributions of time to the university or their community.

A ceremony will be held in the Lory Student Center ballroom following a dinner for the honorees on Oct. 6 at 5:30 p.m. in honor of the recipients.


“These recipients are individuals who have really brought honor to the university in a variety of ways,” Angie Dixon, director of marketing and communication at CSU, said.

“People who can attend are people who are close to the recipients,” Dixon said. “Like, family, friends… people who really support them.”

According to Dixon, around 300 people attend the event.

“It’s a really special night to really recognize those who have done so much for our community,” Dixon said.

The honorees receive specific awards based on certain criteria, according to the nomination guide on the CSU alumni website. The following is a list of the awards and recipients:

William E. Morgan Alumni Achievement Award: Richard L. Robinson (’51) and Edward A. Robinson (’54)


Charles A. Lory Public Service Award: Douglas and Wynne Odell


Jim and Nadine Henry Award: Thomas Bradbury (’58) and Margaret Bradbury



Albert C. Yates Student Leadership Award: Daniele Croteau (’16)


Graduates of the Last Decade Award: James Iacino (’12)


Distinguished Athletics Award: John Mattos (’71)



Distinguished Faculty Award: John Straayer


Distinguished Alumni Employee Award: Carmen Menoni (’87) and Jorge Rocca (’83).


Distinguished Extension Award: Robert and Nancy Sturtevant (’06).


Distinguished International Award: Gye Woon Choi (’91)

College Honor Alumnus Award Roger Steininger (’86), Stuart Ross (’89), Michael Mooney (’71), Richard George (’73) Nancy Richardson (’82), Shaesby Scott (’97), Dean Tsao (’73) and Patricia Olson (’81).


Tickets and table sponsorships for the event are available on the Alumni Association’s website.

Collegian reporter Rachel Saurer can be reached at news@collegian.com or on Twitter @rachbethsaurer