CSU’s Board of Governors elects new chairwoman

horrell mugCSU’s Board of Governors elected Dorothy Horrell of Wheat Ridge, as chair during its annual meeting May 3.

Horrell, president of the Bonfils-Stanton Foundation, joined the Board of Governors in 2010 and has served as the board’s vice chair since 2011. The Board of Governors holds officer elections on odd-numbered years.


“I’m honored to be elected chair of the CSU System board, which is truly a high-functioning and cohesive board focused on continuing to build a strong university system that serves as a vital resource for all of Colorado,” Horrell said. “Given the trend of declining public support, we are at a critical point in time for higher education in this state, and I look forward to working with fellow board members and campus and system leadership to address the challenges and opportunities facing the CSU System.”

According to the CSU System website, Horrell has served as president of Red Rocks Community College in Lakewood and president of the Community Colleges of Colorado.

In addition, William E. Mosher of Denver was elected vice-chair, Dennis E. Flores of Pueblo was named treasurer and Scott C. Johnson of Kit Carson was elected secretary. Horrell replaces Joe Zimlich, CEO of the Bohemian Companies, as chair.