ASSOCIATED STUDENTS OF COLORADO STATE UNIVERSITY FORTY-THIRD SENATE XXVIII SESSION April 16th, 2014

BILL 4325 CONSTITUTIONAL AMENDMENT: Voting Representative Officers

SPONSORED BY: John Stockley, Chief of Staff; Mackenzie Whitesell, Executive Director of Health;

Andrew Bondi, Senator Graduate; Yohana Tuquabo, B/AACC Representative,

Scott Ricketts, Senator Business

WRITTEN BY: Kwjuantiz "Kwon" Yearby, Senator, Intra-University

ENDORSED BY

WHEREAS: The purpose of our organization is to represent a student body comprised of a

multitude of individuals and cultures, linked by our common denominators, yet

distinguished by our unique experiences.

WHEREAS: The Associated Students of Colorado State University actively solicits and

encourages all of its members, regardless of race, gender, national origin, sexual orientation, religion, differing ability, age and class, to participate fully in both its formal and informal activities. This shall include working to create a diverse reflection of the Colorado State student body in Senate and Cabinet positions, in appointments to committees, and in who is sought for direction on important issues. Furthermore, ASCSU is committed to working toward the removal of all barriers, which prevent members from pursuing their affiliation herein and in achieving the most complete educational experience possible. This commitment will be fulfilled by a continual re-examination of organizational structures for inclusiveness, by creating programs and services that provide education and support, and by speaking out and fighting against acts of discrimination on campus

and within the Fort Collins community.

WHEREAS: "Section 217: Representatives shall also be appointed by the Centers of

Student Diversity Programs and Services. These Representatives are members of Senate retaining rights of debate but not the right to vote. These Senators shall be responsible to their constituents and shall seek advisement on a regular basis from the Directors of the cultural, advocacy, or resource center from which the Representative is appointed. These Representatives, however, are not bound by the advisement of their Directors. The term of office for these Representatives shall begin with their being sworn in at the following session of their appointment and will

last until the new Senate is seated "

THEREFORE BE IT HEREBY ENACTED

That Representatives shall be allowed to vote if that can maintain the same level of involvement as Senators. Representatives who sit on an additional committee and hold two additional office hours shall be considered "Voting Representatives"

THEREFORE BE IT HEREBY FURTHER ENACTED

That Section 217 of Article II of the Constitution of the Associated Students of Colorado State University be amended to read as follows:

"Section 217: Representatives shall also be appointed by the Centers of Student Diversity Programs and Services and the Adult Learner Veteran Services. These Representatives are members of Senate retaining rights of debate but not the right to vote, however the right to vote may be attained if a Representative upholds the responsibilities of a Senator. Furthermore, these Representatives shall be responsible to their constituents and shall seek advisement on a regular basis from the Directors of the cultural, advocacy, or resource center from which the Representative is appointed. These Representatives, however, are not bound by the advisement of their Directors. The term of office for these Representatives shall begin with their being sworn in at the following session of their appointment and will last until the new Senate is seated."

THEREFORE BE IT HEREBY FURTHER ENACTED

A Job Description for a Voting Representative and an updated Representative Job Description be presented After the passing of this Bill.

THEREFORE BE IT HEREBY FURTHER ENACTED

That a copy of this legislation be forwarded to Jenny Pickett, Director of ALVS; JoAnn Cornell, Director of APACC; Bridgett Johnson, Director of B/AACC; Guadalupe Salazar, Director of El Centro; K. Foula Dimopoulos, Director of GLBTQ²A; Ty Smith, Director of NACC; Rosemary Kreston, Director of RDS; Dr. Kathy Sisneros, Director of WGAC, Dr. Tony Frank, Colorado State University President; and Dr. Blanche Hughes, Vice President for Student Affairs.

PASSAGE	DATE	
PRESIDENT NIGEL DANIELS	DATE	
VICE PRESIDENT ANDREW OLSON	DATE	