Update: Court rules in favor of international students

Laura Studley

Update 7/14: Federal judge Allison D. Burroughs ruled that international students may remain in the U.S. for their fall semester even if student courses are offered fully online, rescinding the Immigration and Customs Enforcement’s policy announced on July 6. 

Colorado Attorney General Phil Weiser said that thousands of international students studying in Colorado have already had their lives impacted by the coronavirus pandemic in a press release


“They, and the institutions they attend, deserve to continue the plans schools painstakingly developed to ensure student and educator safety before this abrupt reversal,” Weiser said in the release. “ICE’s message that the United States does not welcome foreign students is wrong, counterproductive and illegal.”

The new agreement reinstates a policy that was applied in March, giving international students the flexibility to take all their courses online amid the pandemic, according to The Harvard Crimson.

Update 7/13: Attorney General Maura Healey is joined by others from a variety of institutions and 17 jurisdictions, including Colorado, according to The Boston Globe in their lawsuit against the Trump administration. 

The lawsuit concerns Immigration and Customs Enforcement’s new policy, announced July 6. This directive does not allow international students to stay in the United States if their courses are completely received through online delivery.  

The Trump administration made no attempt to explain ICE’s new rule, Healey explained in a written press release. It forces universities to choose between keeping international students enrolled and minimizing the health risks surrounding the coronavirus on campuses, Healey said. 

On July 9, a letter was sent by U.S. Sens. Elizabeth Warren and Edward J. Markey and Rep. Ayanna Pressley, along with other members of Congress, urging ICE Deputy Director Matthew T. Albence and Acting Secretary of Homeland Security Chad Wolf to abandon the new directive.

The other districts joining Massachusetts in the lawsuit are Connecticut, Delaware, District of Columbia, Illinois, Maryland, Michigan, Minnesota, Nevada, New Jersey, New Mexico, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, Vermont, Virginia and Wisconsin.

Laura Studley can be reached at news@collegian.com or on Twitter @laurastudley_