Colorado State University began enforcing scooter regulations on campus Monday, outlining new laws regarding the driving and parking of motorized scooters.
All scooters are required to be registered with a six-digit number while riding on campus.
Low-powered scooters, mopeds and gas-motor bicycles are not to be parked near the bike racks or against a building. Scooters can be driven in the roadway as long as they are not impeding traffic.
“My scooter only goes about 25 miles per hour,” said Will Baker, junior journalism major. “It doesn’t keep up with traffic along Laurel where the speed limit is higher.”
Although scooters may not be as fast as a car, riding on the bike path or sidewalk is prohibited. When operating a scooter, a horn, tail reflector, headlight and brakes are required.
Scooters parked illegally will be ticketed and those left for 48 hours will be towed. Since campus considers scooters as motorcycles, all scooters must be parked on a paved lot and have either a parking permit or pay to park on an hourly meter using the registration number.
“If they start charging me I probably will not ride my scooter to campus,” said Alex Moreau, junior economics major. “The whole point of having a scooter is so you don’t have to pay to park it like a car.”
A scooter is considered nothing more than 50cc of power or 4,476 watts if it is electric powered. All drivers must have a valid drivers license, insurance and registration in order to operate a scooter on the roadway.
For more information on registering a scooter, visit the Colorado Department of Motor Vehicle website. For more on CSU parking permit information, students can go to Parking and Transportation Services in the Lake Street Garage.
Collegian Reporter Christina Vessa can be contacted at firstname.lastname@example.org or on Twitter at @chrissyvessa.